Ideal Temperatures

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by BeefyPeeg, Jul 20, 2019.

1. BeefyPeeg

BeefyPeeg Registered

I was wondering if anyone knew of a good source for vehicle data such as ideal water, oil, brake, and tire temperatures? Obviously, this will vary by vehicle, tire/brake material, etc., but I would just like a good base line target. Not being a race engineer myself, I have no idea where a good range would be.

Slip_Angel and memoNo1 like this.
  2. Bill Worrel

Bill Worrel Registered

Use Carstat2, it will tell you that information for any car except ones that are encrypted - such as S397's paid DLC.

memoNo1 likes this.
  3. memoNo1

memoNo1 Registered

Sounds intersting. Where can I find Carstat2? Under the Thread Plugins?

4. Bill Worrel

Bill Worrel Registered

memoNo1 likes this.
  5. memoNo1

memoNo1 Registered

A good mod.
    Unfortunately, it doesn't work for almost new vehicle.
    But it have a great Potentiel. I hope S397 builds something similiar in the new UI.

6. davehenrie

davehenrie Registered

no, it cannot access new cars, but, APEX has modeled a large number of GT3 cars, Simtek as well. Those could be looked at and generalities might be assumed.

7. David O'Reilly

David O'Reilly Registered

Carstat 2 is a great tool in my opinion. As suggested above, get it and start looking at cars.
    Yes a shame that we can't see the information on encrypted files such as the new S397 GT cars.

From the many vehicles I have checked in Carstat 2 there seems to be some commonalities.
    Brakes: Most carbon discs seem to have an optimum range somewhere around 350-850 deg.
    Tyres: It seems that all tyres have optimum grip at 100 deg C. its the fall away in grip above and below that temp that varies.