How important is car tuning for the novice driver?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by BoothJoe, Feb 10, 2016.

1. BoothJoe

BoothJoe Registered

I'm relatively new to sim racing (a few months) so if my performances were something my dog found on the ground, he'd think twice about rolling in it. I am reading the Skip Barber book and finding it educational, but I am suspecting that sim racing is not something you "get good at" in a couple of weeks (and it shouldn't be).

I think a lot about driving and tuning and I've written some thoughtful TLDR posts that I thankfully never actually posted. But I still wonder and so I decided tonight would be a good night to ask a simple question and see what the good people here have to say.

So, at what point should a novice driver concern himself with the setup of his car?

2. Jamie Shorting

Jamie Shorting Registered

In road racing that last 10% is setup so I personally don't worry about it too much. I know there will be plenty of people who disagree with me though. Oval racing is a whole other ball game.

3. Emery

Emery Registered

When the default setup is actively trying to kill you (brake bias too rearward) or scare you (too much oversteer) or annoy you (too much understeer or you're stuck on the rev limiter).

4. schigara

schigara Registered

I think it depends on the car and its stock setup coupled with your driving style. I have picked up as much as 5 seconds a lap on longer tracks by changing the setup of a car that under steered badly with the default set to more of an over steer setup.

5. Guimengo

Guimengo Guest

The rFactor (1) easy setup slider was a really, really cool thing. It never helps to have awful or unbalanced default setups, especially with such large ranges on certain vehicles.

6. DrR1pper

DrR1pper Registered

My 2 pennies worth.....

not until at least a year from when you started. Seriously.