Funding vs timeline clarity

Discussion in 'Wish Lists' started by torig, Jan 3, 2019.

1. torig

torig Registered

Hi,

I am very new to simracing. Because I invested a lot of time (hours for days on end) in research I found out that rfactor 2 has the most accurate physics. I learned of the situation with ISI and Studio 397, read roadmaps and watched videos.

Would it be possible to share actual product dev roadmaps on calendars, clarifying eg feature A is a 4-months effort (if all goes well) planned to run from then to then?

Secondly, it’d be great if we could pre-buy a DLC, vote for upcoming features or help raise funds (crowdfunding, equity, or a subscription-based model) to (help) accelerate development. It’s kind of bizarre to a relative newcomer how much negativity is out there about new content being released - in a herculean effort by a relatively small group of motivated and skilled people.

It either doesn’t tick someone’s wishlist (making it rubbish), is too expensive (7-10-15 bucks, really?), or isn’t ‘perfect yet’, or the ‘wrong priority’.

I just wish there were a mechanism to help ensure more focused development which in turn is profitable and ensures longevity, but also offers more homogeneous content quality. Seeing graphical fidelity improve is fantastic (as that’s what led me to discard rfactor 2 initially, before the research) but at the same time it’s a very slow process and the content will be this mixed bag...

Korva7 and bwana like this.
  2. Lazza

Lazza Registered

The new UI started development in 2017 I think, late 2017 there was an early screenshot or two. Mid last year it was slated for late '18 release. Latest roadmap they're 'confident' it will materialize in 2019. No indication of which part of 2019.