DLC review - beginner - Nurburgring Endurance Pack

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by justposted, Oct 28, 2020.

1. justposted

justposted Registered

Introduction
    There are several video reviews of the various DLC for rFactor, but as a beginner I don't always find them all that useful. I race with AI at approaching 95 (depending on track and car), so I am not a total beginner but certainly am not fast. Things that might matter to a more experienced driver, like you see in the nice Ermin Hamidovic reviews on YouTube, are not necessarily the same things as matter to me.

There also don't seem to be any (?) pack reviews - only those for separate parts of the content, such as cars or tracks. So I figured I'd do some DLC reviews as I buy them, to help potential buyers like me.

This review is for the Nurburgring Endurance Pack.
    DLC contents: Nurburgring, Porsche 911 GT3 Cup, BMW M2 CS Racing, Radical SR3-XX
    Cost: about £10/$15USD
    Default set-up

Before I start, I'll point out that lights on all of the cars are fine. Driving at night is not a problem from that point of view. There are cars out there that give out too little light to drive comfortably at night, but these are fine.

Nurburgring 2.09
    The Nordschleife, e.g. Nurburgring Endurance layout, feels great to drive. Loads of fast and slow corners, one enormously long straight, lots of elevation changes. Nurburgring GP layout gives you the conventional racing circuit layout and is an excellent example of this track, with some challenging technical sequences and a lovely swooping sort-of-straight towards the end.

The layouts all look great, especially Nordschleife at 5.30am. Performance is solid for me, though might be an issue if you have less than 8GB VRAM in your graphics card. I set Texture to High (not Full) and race with 30AI.