Direct Drive Wheel - wont function correctly

Discussion in 'Technical & Support' started by Brad C, Apr 1, 2020.

1. Brad C

Brad C Registered

Hi All,

I am new to rfactor2 but coming across for iracing which I have been running for a few years. I have an OSW Argon wheel which I use MMosFFB on my PC and have it all setup and working perfect in iracing.

I am trying to get rfactor2 to work with the same wheel but it's doing strange things. It detects the wheel ok and allows me set it up in the settings in rfactor but in-game it's violent to use and doesn't work - see video to see what I mean. https://drive.google.com/open?id=1yeaYR0FrCypqotwHoVr0bec8tQc6qNKa

I expected it would work like it does in iracing, is there something I need to change in settings to get it working normally in rfactor2?

Thanks,
    Brad.

Attached Files:

2. lagg

lagg Registered

I've an OSW Argon - Small Mige too and i use it without problems.
    I have the Max force=50% and the overall filter=0
    Have you driven in track?
    Have you seen if the force works in the opposite way?
    If it's the case edit the "...\rFactor 2\UserData\player\Controller.JSON" or your controller.json and change the sign of the "Steering effects strength" parameter

3. Brad C

Brad C Registered

I tried the max force settings etc, didn't make any difference.

I then adjusted the Controller.JSON from "Steering effects strength" from 10000 down to 100, then down to 10. This stopped the wheel moving violently with huge force to the left and made it much lighter to move. But the steering wheel in the game moves super fast, what I mean is if I now move the actual steering wheel about 1 or 2 degrees, it spins the wheels a full rotation in the game. So it's like it's treating the wheel like a button on a keyboard, on or off, instead of a wheel which has varied movement. That, or, the % is just way out so movement on the actual wheel doesn't match movement of the wheel in the game.

Any ideas??

4. davehenrie