Dedi server not visible at all on any list

Discussion in 'Hosting Help' started by Asimov, Oct 9, 2016.

1. Asimov

Asimov Registered

Hi, I'm a server admin and I've been succesfully using rf2 dedi server for months before having this problem: now for some reason the server is not visible both in steam and launcher lists, even if everything looks fine.
    Let me show why I am sure that this issue is not depending on config, network or anything related to the server. This is the operating server window with an event loaded and running:

View attachment 20943

Of course the first thing was to triple-check firewall and in general the communications capabilities of the machine. In my firewall there's a rule for rf2 dedi executable that allows communications for any protocol on any port, but I also tested it: from my client machine (a client outside the server's LAN) I can telnet the dedi on its ports without errors:

View attachment 20942

Also, server side, I can see the connection popping up: to check this I used CurrPorts, which is showing that not only dedi is listening on its ports, but also that my telnet request shown above did estabilished the connection:

View attachment 20941

I made a lot of research and testing, changed configs, mods, anything: the server never appeared on mp lists.

Please keep in mind that, as I said, I used to host from this very same machine without problems until some months ago (february 2016 to be precise): by then server list was still ingame (not on the launcher), and everything worked fine. Server side nothing changed since then, but I noticed that rf2 went through some updates in the meanwhile, so my current bet is that something related to the last updates could be the cause of the problem.

I would be grateful to anyone who can give me a hand on this cause I'm currently out of ideas.

Thanks in advance, cheers.

2. Goanna

Goanna Registered