Controller woes

Discussion in 'Technical & Support' started by Daza_NZ, Jun 16, 2017.

1. Daza_NZ

Daza_NZ Registered

Im new to rFactor2 (Steam version), i recently picked up the demo and give the game a go. My first problem was getting the controller working properly, buttons worked but no steering so i went into settings and the game would not register the stick moving at first, like wise assigning Dpad to anything wouldnt register. Eventually after mucking about (i'm not sure what i did) then when i tried to rebind left stick for left and right it did work without fuss. I saved my configuration. The second time i played the demo i had do it all over again, i think loading my config didnt help. Once it was set i had no problems and found the game is very playable with a controller after some fine tuning.

I brought the full version lastnight and today ive having problems again with getting the game to register the stick movement to bind left and right and also bind look with the right stick. I ended up having to copy over the saved controller config from the demo folder to the game, and one of these didn't work and the other did, however with this loaded i couldnt bind the right stick for looking behind, left and right view etc. Its totally weird. So currently one of my old config saves for controller from demo version is working in full game, i can steer. However i cannot bind look around to right stick nor can i bind the LCD controls to the D-pad the game when it asks you to press a key or controller to bind. Quite frustrating. This game came out in 2014? I know many users have a proper wheel and perhaps not many players have this problem i am having but its affecting my ability to get into this game.

2. ADSTA

ADSTA Registered

Welcome Daza_from the far eastern suburbs home of very nervous sheep. ;)
    rfactor2 actually came out January 11, 2012 (says my receipt), I remember it like yesterday, we were so excited it was like Beatlemania all over again.