Clouds textures

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by trollray, Jul 8, 2016.

1. trollray

trollray Registered

Hi all,

I'm not totally pleased by the look of the clouds for now.
    I can understand that it's not a top priority but in any case,
    how do they are created and in witch format?
    In other words, could we change the graphical texture in something better?
    I'm no programmer at all but i'm using photoshop generally and i'm intersted in modding the clouds image if someone can help me ;)
    Is it possible? Any idea?
    (for example, i like the way of fsx clouds are now when using rex textures for those who know it ;) ))

2. stonec

stonec Registered

Clouds in rF2 are not static textures as in rF1, they are dynamically generated and updated throughout the session. So nope, I'm afraid you can't do anything about it.

3. ECAR_Tracks

ECAR_Tracks Registered

Yes, you're right. But, unfortunately, I'm with the Trollray, the clouds looks very, very flat nowadays, like they were a vapor plane. Better clouds would be a boost on the general looking of game.

4. Joe Campana

Joe Campana Registered

That is not true. The cloud textures are contained in the sky.mas in Core.

That is true - since the clouds are/could be used to determine track temp, it is critical that they be the same for server and all clients to prevent cheating. So they are encrypted and part of Core which cannot be changed.

5. Comante

Comante Registered

So the next time you see a cloud in RF2 sky, don't think it's just a sloppy texture, but that is a piece of data with a precise function.

6. Tuttle

Tuttle Technical Art Director - Env Lead