Car setup questions - tire pressure-understeer,oversteer

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Moving Violation, Sep 13, 2021.

1. Moving Violation

Moving Violation Registered

I am just starting to learn how to do some basic setups. I've made some good progress and have been able to solve a couple of long standing problems.

One thing I have not been able to do is figure out how to set tire pressures. I have searched online but have not been able to find data on optimum pressures. Without that I don't know what to use as a start point.

Also, I have some questions about how various changes affect oversteer and understeer on turn in and turn out. For example, if moving brake bias forward it is possible to introduce turn in understeer. This seems counter intuitive since I am getting more braking. Is it a matter of simply overloading which causes the understeer ?

Finally, since all setup changes involve compromise and one change can affect other things I am wondering if there is a preferred order of doing a setup. I know that it is important to do test each change one at a time.
    I would appreciate any advice.

2. mantasisg

mantasisg Registered

In rF2 you can go, with lowest pressures mod allow. rF2 has physical tires, optimum pressures aren't determined by just throwing in an exact number into physics parameters. And there seems to be lack of some physical effect which would result in penalty of going too low, whatever it could be. Yet IRL it seems to be true as well as long as it is not wet, and it is not bringing structural strength of tire too low.