Can these machines run rFactor 1 & 2? Is a GeForce GT 760 upgrade good enough?

Discussion in 'Hardware Building/Buying/Usage Advice' started by jbuttonfan, Oct 30, 2014.

1. jbuttonfan

jbuttonfan Registered

Good afternoon, this is my first post here. I am looking for advice before buying parts, computers, the game, everything.

My current computer is:
    Mobo is a Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H,
    CPU is the Intel Core i5-3470 Quad-Core processor with 3.2GHz,
    Kingston DDR3 8GB RAM,
    GPU is the Sapphire Radeon HD 6770 1GB DDR5,
    along with a 40" Samsung Led TV Series 5 5500 through HDMI,
    and a Seagate Barracuda 500GB HDD.

OFC it can run rFactor 1 because I have been doing it since 2012 with satisfaction. My question is will it be good enough for rFactor 2? Do I need a GPU upgrade to GeForce GT 760? I liked this card because of dual boot reasons, I have a OS X 10.10 Hackintosh running there as well, so I need a GPU that can be used in both OS without big troubles. Also, this card is within my budget.

Actually I have a small dilemma, I am going to be out for a month in Europe, and from there I could buy a new macbook to replace my outdated 2010 13" MacBook Pro, or a new Mac Mini to replace my current simracing (heavy) PC. I need to make some space in my bedroom and the "big ugly PC tower" needs to go, hence why I thought of the Mac Mini. I also thought of the Gigabyte Brix Gaming mini PC, but I can't find it anywhere and it is quite expensive. My dad wanted my computer to make his own discrete home cinema pc (getting the parts to put in a case he designed for it) and offered me to trade it for his mid-2011 Mac Mini. The CPU of my current PC of course is very powerful and would trash his Mac Mini in a performance comparison, so the proposed trade would be a no-no, but I need a smaller PC/Mac.

The specs of my options as follows, in order of personal preference:

MacBook Air, 11-inch 256GB
    1.4GHz dual-core Intel Core i5 processor