BRM P83 1966 w.i.p - beginner need some help

Discussion in 'Car Modding' started by Hedlund_90, Jul 10, 2012.

1. Hedlund_90

Hedlund_90 Registered

Hi guys. I'm starting this thread mainly because I think it's a good way to find help when it's needed (and that would be all the time). I'm totally new to modelling and I've been using 3ds max 2012 for nearly a week. I have created a main body and working alongside with a radiator and the engine because I'm uncertain of what to do first of all. Feels like I have millions of questions, and I can't even download the 'official' tutorial for car modding. I'm searching google all the time but don't find very much. The greatest questions right now are:

1. How to organize all objects I'm creating? Right now I have only 3 objects: Body, radiator and engine. All smaller parts have I attached to it's belonging object (like the small tube or any other small detail) I've attached it to the radiator so it's just one piece. Is this the correct way to do it, or should there be many small pieces that I place in a GROUP called "radiator" instead? And have radiator, tube, expansion tank etc in that group?

2. Can I create all suspension/brakes/steering parts now, and add their functions later? I mean I don't know yet how to make suspension work properly in-game so I just want to model the parts first. Or should I wait?

3. The cockpit... How detailed should it be? I mean, is there different detail-levels from different views in-game? Inside while driving, from tv-camera etc. And how do I know how to place the seat and steering wheel exactly in the right place for the driver?

4. Low, medium, high and max. Do I have to do different versions of this car for the different quality settings in-game? Then how?

As you can tell, I'm total noob :cool: Links to any guides/tutorials describing what I'm asking for is much appreciated.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]