Tire heat mostly on the inside now?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Amanda Santini, May 20, 2019.

1. Amanda Santini

Amanda Santini Registered

Hey!

I've owned rFactor 2 since ~mid 2017 and tire heat spread has been uniform since then, meaning the tires were consistently pink all throughout the lap if my camber was set correctly.

I've been away from sim racing in general for about 6 months, and last week I re-installed rFactor 2.

I started playing a few days ago and noticed that heat was mostly concentrated around the inside of the tires. I said "ok, could be a tire model change, let's decrease camber from 4 to 1.5 and see what gives".
    But no, it doesn't change much of the heat of my tires.

You can see it HERE after a few corners where I pushed the tires pretty hard.
    And HERE, showing that even after a few laps the heat is still mostly around the inside.

And HERE is a video of it.

I wasn't able to see any difference in corner speed, but the fact that heat distribution changed is something I want to know more about. Is it a problem with my install or is that happening for you too?

Thanks.

2. AlenC

AlenC Registered

I always have to lower the camber from the default setup and I do notice a change in grip and heat when cornering.

3. Rui Santos

Rui Santos Registered

What car? In some cars (like Formula Renault 3.5 2014) the outside part is the hottest, no matter the camber...

4. bummer115

bummer115 Registered

Are the tires over inflated?

5. Amanda Santini

Almost all of them.
    And it's pretty hard to get any heat after e.g. 5 laps. It used to be easy to put heat into medium tires after those many laps.

Most cars bellow had their camber reduced. Some were at minimum, some went from 3.5 to 2.5 or less.

Clio Cup: https://i.imgur.com/mRhgt50.jpg
    Radical Non-GT3: https://i.imgur.com/gTUtCke.jpg
    AMG GT3: https://i.imgur.com/wtVFH14.jpg
    Porsche 911 RSR: https://i.imgur.com/i4ypwNc.jpg