iDT St Petersburg, needs a dx11 conversion

Discussion in 'Locations' started by davehenrie, Mar 10, 2018.

1. Daniele Vidimari

Daniele Vidimari Registered

A couple of months ago i started building this track (i see this like a challenge as i am a noob modder), hope to finish it one day, sadly i can't work on it every time i want :(
    NVM some placeholder materials/textures, still a lot to do.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Corti

Corti Registered

nice, good job mate!!

3. Ppj Duin

Ppj Duin Registered

So, a few people working on this.. I'm working on it myself also.. Started a month back and I'm using maya, probably not the easiest to get it to dx11 but with the new pbr shaders it should better translate between game engine and 3d app, time will tell..

Maybe a collaboration between a few would be possible.. I myself prefer realism over esthetics, and found some coarse lidar data to get the track elevations right .. Did a lot off research already on this and as you can see the roadmesh is done, closing the infield first and adding kerbs, which are different in almost every corner from what I've seen.. Wire_1-2.jpg Wire_3.jpg Wire_1-2.jpg Wire_3.jpg Lidar_2.jpg Wire_2.jpg Wire_5-1.jpg

4. Daniele Vidimari

Daniele Vidimari Registered

Yes expecially the kerb in the last corner, never seen a kerb like that :eek:
    PM sent! More than happy to collaborate.

Last edited: Jan 3, 2019
    Lars, Ppj Duin, ede78 and 1 other person like this.
  5. Will Mazeo

Will Mazeo Registered

Well when is about tracks esthetics is half of the realism.

Ppj Duin likes this.
  6. iDTDoug

iDTDoug Registered

I always try and use real photos for materials whenever possible for realism. Let me know if you need anything.

7. Ppj Duin

Ppj Duin Registered

True, I meant that more in a way that it doesn't matter how great things look, it's only realistic if things are looking like the real thing..