Creating plugins using Visual Studio

Discussion in 'Plugins' started by hamiltonfan2205, Jun 5, 2017.

1. hamiltonfan2205

hamiltonfan2205 Registered

I just want to ask what are the first steps when doing an rF2 plugin? Do you use the Create Project From Existing Code or do you use something else?

Spectator6 likes this.
  2. Tygernoot

Tygernoot Registered

Spectator6 and The Iron Wolf like this.
  3. hamiltonfan2205

hamiltonfan2205 Registered

Is there a more in depth tutorial on how to use this than on the S397 site? Seems easier than i thought it was but just want to know if there is a tutorial...;

4. palm3r

palm3r Registered

Search "rfactor 2 plugin" in Github.
    You can find some good examples.

5. Sergi Heras

Sergi Heras Registered

I've encountered the same problem. I'm a web developer and I'm quite lost with this.
    I managed to compile the example KnockoutQualifying plugin, and run it, and make it work.
    But seems like any change I do on the code doesn't make any effect, as the sessions duration keep being the same.

Any of you that have made a plugin and can help with this?
    Also I'd like to say, that in Visual Studio, you need to go to properties -> Configuration Properties (on the example project) and make it 64bit and release, otherwise it won't be seen by the game.
    And then "Build solution", and you'll have a new folder where you have several files, including the dll.

I had to learn this 64bit thing all by myself, losing quite a lot of time.
    I think we should have a basic guide to make a lot easier for people wanting to develop plugins, specially now with DX11.

This is what I made, idk if it's correct or not, so I would appreciate some help on knowing if this is right, and then why the example plugin whatever time or session changes I made in the code, it keeps making the same.

Thanks in advance!

PS: I think we should help us more between us if we wanna develop things.

6. ZordheR

ZordheR Registered