Very dissapointed

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Miquel Ramos, Jan 6, 2018.

1. Miquel Ramos

Miquel Ramos Registered

Today I decided to test how simulates rF2 differences in temperature. Well, I am a iracing driver and in this one there are exaggerated differences in grip on track with some variation in temperature, that's a known issue in his tire model.

My big surprise is when I see that rF2 don't simulate anything. First if you select 20ºC ambient, you always have 20º on track, at least in not multiplayer sessions. Don't matter is clear or overcast, and that's impossible, track temperature in fact changes with radiation of sun, humidity, time of day, and obviously with cars on track but I know that's an advanced feature of real road in iRacing. Anyway track temperature would be a simple calculation with ambient temperature, state of sky and maybe humidity. I saw always same ambient temperature than track temperature

Well, but track temperature would be useless because rFactor 2 have always same grip, temperature it seems don't affect to grip on tires, so in my test I got same times with 20ºC overcast than 40ºC clear.

So I'm very dissapointed, rF2 has a very good tire model but if don't take account track temperature, is absolutely wrong. I like steps is doing rF2, but in my oppinion these questions should be a priority to improve that sim.

Sorry if I'm wrong, maybe it should do more tests, I don't play multiplayer usually

Nieubermesch, Raintyre and TJones like this.
  2. mixer61

mixer61 Registered

Try it online, three laps minimum, and judge after, thank you.

3. XenoYparxi

XenoYparxi Registered

Temperatures (and wind speed) are currently locked to one value (for temperatures it's 25 or 29), so you'll feel no difference whatsoever. S397 are working on that, if I'm not mistaken

Last edited: Jan 6, 2018
    TJones likes this.
  4. ebeninca

ebeninca Registered

Yes, the problem exists and it's already know by studio397.