Physically Based Rendering

Discussion in 'Wish Lists' started by Ozzy, Jun 13, 2017.

1. Ozzy

Ozzy Registered

I hope my wish is not too late, but since development of new shaders was postponed, we might have still a chance.:D

I don't think I have to explain all that much. PBR is more or less industry standard for games and CGI.
    Even "small" games using inhouse engines like iRacing or DCS World come up with PBR support.

Besides the obvious advantage of more realistic materials you also get:
    - More consistent materials in all scenes / lighting conditions
    - More consistent and easier workflow when creating materials (which usually results in a faster workflow)

The advantages should directly transfer to modding because instead of dealing with a dozen of specular and fresnel values, you typically only adjust the roughness and IOR (which you can basically google).
    I only have basic experience myself, but even as a beginner I could create some awesome looking materials in Blender Cycles. I think that already shows how awesome this must be.:p

Since rFactor 2 aims for a realistic look, PBR should be a perfect fit.

I'm curious about what others have to say. Are there any other advantages or even disadvantages using PBR?

2. Fabio Pittol

Fabio Pittol Registered

No disadvantages in using PBR shaders. and indeed they are much needed.

What is important to know, though, is that having PBR shaders doesn't mean that everything will suddenly became easy and super pretty. You cited Blender Cycles, which is a ray-trace based render engine, not real time. That itself changes a lot of things. Seeing what people do with the Quixel suite (or Substance Painter) and plug into real time rendering engines such as Marmoset Toolbag is probably more informative for this matter.