Car Physics Modding for dummies.....

Discussion in 'Car Modding' started by Autosport, May 19, 2017.

1. Autosport

Autosport Registered

Hi Everyone,
    I've been lurking around the various Sim racing forums far a few weeks trying to get my head around rfactor2 modding and I've had a lot of headaches doing so, but I think things are starting to become a little bit clearer.

There's very little in the way of step by step "Dummies" guides or how to videos etc on even the most basic of operations in this area. For example just being able to fire up Ptool seems to be a secret. So I'm thinking of helping solve these basic issues for others like me by doing some guides for other dummies.

My background is as a Designer for various Formula One and other racing teams, suspension systems in particular. I'm currently a senior engineer for one of the BTCC teams, and have built a SIM rig to aid driver and car development.

I've still got a million and one things to learn about how to do physics mods and get them working although I seem to have got my head around quite a lot of the Physics calculator spread sheet, there are still a lot of unanswered questions to get these mods to actually run on the game properly.

I've felt and seem some glaring errors in a lot of the cars I've been playing with so far especially the Honda and Chevrolet BTCC cars, where the steering feel is weird and the physics files are full of odd values, but, I'm not yet at the stage where I can successfully manage to modify them and then get them to run again in the game.

Is there anyone on here that would like to work with me to put together a "dummies" guide to this stuff to make it easier for other people to get involved with this side of Rfactor2?

Darren

2. Woodee

Woodee Registered

A few people have set up a Discord channel to discuss physics and things... might be worth a look? https://discord.gg/h3xMxAD

3. SPASKIS

SPASKIS Registered