How do I know my skin is uploading to a server?

Discussion in 'Technical & Support' started by SpeedLab, Nov 26, 2015.

1. SpeedLab

SpeedLab Registered

I am just learning how to use and install custom skins in rFactor2. Before I would just install a custom skin into one of the folders for a stock skin. When I select the skin in the show room under variants when I enter an online server I would get a red square next to my name which would usually turn to green within a reasonable amount of time. I believe this indicates that your skin has successfully been uploaded onto the server and other participants can now see your custom skin?

Recently I learned how to create a new driver and give it a team name, edit the numbered RCD file and install the skin into the new Windows folder that was created for it. It seems when I use this process I don't get any square next to my name when I enter an online server. Of course I can see my own skin and the team name that I created for it in the garage menu but I'm not sure if it's uploading to the server or if others can see it without asking. Is it normal that you don't see any square if you do it this way?

Am I doing something wrong or is this just the way it is if you create a new driver? (That you don't see any square next to your name)

Is there a way to confirm that your skin is uploaded to an online server without asking others?

Anyone who knows who can explain in more detail I would very much appreciate it. After spending all the time getting a custom skin created of course I would like it to be uploaded to online servers.

2. Guimengo

Guimengo Guest

Edit: Removed response addressing his issue because the guy is rude and can't read.

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 27, 2015
  3. SpeedLab

SpeedLab Registered