Question about load cell brake pedals

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Marc Collins, Nov 18, 2015.

1. Joe

Joe Registered

OK, I will email him. thanks. Sorry I have no experience on real GT cars. Since I could not get "reasonable" travel distance on the pedal, I thought it might be not realistic. The site of HE pedals offers HE brake pedal curves, but not HPP site. Anyhow, there is no way for me to "objectively" verify either. All depends on some ones real-life experiences and their subjective view.

2. smbrm

smbrm Registered

If you have an unattached pedal set braced against the wall and your chair keeps backing away from the pedals the next simple solution is to connect the chair to the pedals. I did this with my G25 load cell mod pedals by mounting them to a board. I then had a second board that would connect with the pedal board. This second piece was placed between the pedal set and the chair. The end at the chair was shaped like the top of a "T". Two of the five office chair wheels would be locked on the pedal side of the "T" preventing the chair from moving away from the pedal mount. Work great, but not as rigid as as a rig. I now have a home built wood rig which is much more appropriate.

3. Joe

Joe Registered

Yes, I agree. I read online now. It seems most believed that Hydraulic brake pedal is more realistic than loadcell, due to the fact that real brake is hydraulic. It is stiff because of small compressibility of fluids. So travel distance is not an attribute to measure. In real race car, the brake (fluid) lines are pretty long, and fluid reservoir is large too, hence some travel distance will be seen. The bump rubbers play the role to model such stiffness and travel distance. I will, as suggested, email Mark to ask for small black bump rubbers....