Guys, I'm KILLING myself on neutralizing corner exit oversteer

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Voodoo Pizzaman, Oct 31, 2015.

1. kaptainkremmen

kaptainkremmen Registered

Is that a Typo? Default sensitivity is 100%.

2. Voodoo Pizzaman

Voodoo Pizzaman Registered

Probably because I'm an engineer and there's always a more efficient solution than the one currently in place. I'm obsessive.

See above, haha.

3. PearceYaussy

PearceYaussy Registered

It's an issue with the rf2 tire model. It seems that with all the cars, moreso the open wheel cars, the rear horizontal slip increases exponentially with the increase in rear lateral slip, and I don't think that's all too accurate. I have this opinion by comparing the handling of the rf2 karts with real life karts, which I have driven and am very fast. On the real kart I don't get NEAR the amount of extreme snapping loose on throttle that I get in the sim. Not even close! For one thing I can push the throttle and keep turning without having to react like a freaking alien to correct the INSANE amount of oversteer on throttle. So whatever bug is in the rf2 tire model, it is multiplied by 10x with the karts because of there very light weight and extreme agility.

The only OW car I don't have this issue with is the ASR 90s F1 cars, they drive like a charm. But like Paul Loatman has said, this was probably accomplished by using false tire data to correct the problem. Although I have loved 88-97 style F1 cars since GTR2 days. They really seem to fit my all-or-nothing driving style.

Anyway, I guess all you can really do is wait for a fix (if we ever get one, seems like things get worse with every build lately).

The way around it for now is to just be extremely careful on the throttle until you are completely straight, and then mash it. Maybe even try negative throttle sensitivity.

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 2, 2015
  4. PearceYaussy

PearceYaussy Registered