First attempt at modding - VW Golf R32 mark III

Discussion in 'Car Modding' started by MHansen, May 7, 2015.

1. MHansen

MHansen Registered

Hi all,

So, this is my first attempt at modeling a car at all. My 3 year old son have a heart for racecars (like his dad), although he think that almost every car is a racecar (for Scandinavians, he calls them all Racerbil). Anyway, he also thinks that our old Golf III 1.8 is a very cool racecar, so he was very excited when I told him that I wanted to make the car driveable in RFactor 2. Also I thought that this would be an excellent first attempt at modding, since the Golf Mark III has very nice rounded curves and not to many difficult holes and airducts.

This is the very first attempt at getting the baseline car-body in place. There are stille much to do before even the body is ready and then comes the interior, headlights, cockpit etc.

The images are here.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

But also since this is my very first attempt at making a car in any 3D program whatsoever, I have also a couple of questions. I have seen a tutorial on the web, where he splits the car up into many different bits and pieces. Front and rear bumper, spoilers, windscreens, lights, etc.
    So I wanted to hear, as my first question, what I would do when making a car for RFactor 2. I have thought of splitting it into carbody, interior (cockpit), lights and heckspoiler(s). I have thought of putting a larger heckspoiler and turbocharge the car, in order to make a touring car model, when I have all the rest in place.

Any other comment are also very welcome.

Cheers

2. peterchen

peterchen Registered

Sorry, no modeler here, but keep it up! Golf is always good! :p

3. tjc

tjc Registered

I`m at about the same stage as you with modelling (I`m following a tut) so unfortunately I can`t offer much advice but I`m very interested in what advice etc others offer you on the model.