monitor or tv?

Discussion in 'Hardware Building/Buying/Usage Advice' started by No96, Dec 19, 2014.

1. No96

No96 Registered

I have a reasonable size monitor for work but I want a bigger screen for my sim seat setup but I am also restricted for space at 32" or 40" might fit.
    I have only just started investigating. I am sure I ran a TV from my computer hdmi before and it worked ok?

Is it a bad idea? If I get a reasonable HD TV 1080 will this do the job or will the cost be the same or more to get a comparable monitor?

I am trying to keep the cost down as I just spent a chunk of money on this setup in one hit. I am think £150 ish budget... I'd even buy second hand for now.

2. Hazi

Hazi Registered

Think you will have to look for a TV with as low inputlag as possible - but you will almost nowhere get that information for most TVs. I am just a Sunday driver an hooked my PC to an 46 Samsung TV - its ok for me but I am stuck at 60FPS and for real simracers the input lag is far to high for sure (I think).

3. DurgeDriven

DurgeDriven Banned

TV will work fine from DVi or HDMi

I think any reasonable 1080 does a very reasonable job.

60Hz does not matter that much to me, I use 60 Hz and will race anyone on my day.

The thing for me is noticeable is the response time.

Cheaper 24/27 PC Monitor have `1/2 ms response time ......ergo no blurring.

4. Richard Chmielewski

Richard Chmielewski Registered

What DD said.

I did not know monitors were even available in such a large size. I figured only TVs came that big.

The response time is the most import number to look at when buying. The lower, the better.

With a TV, you get the added bonus of having it be able to hook up to an antenna or cable so you can watch TV. With a monitor, you would need some kind of box to send a signal to the screen. Which is how most cable and sat. systems work these days anyhow.

5. Spinelli

Spinelli Banned