Just want to race

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ashes, Oct 14, 2014.

1. Ashes

Ashes Registered

Hi all.

I'm posting here because I want to get input from all of you (ISI and consumer alike).
    When I started playing rf2 online a few months ago, there were some ISI servers listed at the top, the content was obviously ISI only, and there were always people online.
    Now, when I go online, I spend a good half an hour trying to find a server that I have the content for ("get missing components" can take loooooong to download IF everything can even be fetched - I know that is up to the developer of the mod to sort out)

The reason I'm posting here, is because I'd love to be able to just go online, join a server immediately, do some casual racing without having to download and then learn a new car / track.
    Am I the only one in this position?
    Please point me in the right direction if I'm being stupid, and missing something obvious.

Thanks,

2. Spinelli

Spinelli Banned

One of the main things about build 860 was the ability to not have to have the entire server's list of tracks anymore. All you need installed, or need to download from the server, is the very track they are using at the moment. 1 track, simple as that. This, in theory, would avoid the issues, frustration and time-wasting being spent trying to join a server and race.

BUT

When I go online, it seems everyone is still using the old and ridiculous style where you need the entire pre-set list of tracks, even though you may just want to race at 1 or two tracks for just a half an hour or an hour or whatever.

Why are people still using this ridiculous old system, when a new and much more logical, quick and simple way exists? I have no idea, but it's darn frustrating to it's users, and it's no doubt hurting the products success.

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 14, 2014
  3. Spinelli

Spinelli Banned