Info & Advice Needed by new Sim-Racer

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by FFOman, Jul 3, 2014.

1. FFOman

FFOman Registered

Hi all! I'm an old hippie programmer who has been racing CodeMasters F1 and Dirt series for a number of years, and also fooled around with rFactor 1 for a short while some years ago before I was ready to get serious. And now that I am ready, and have the time to give it my all, I've purchased rFactor 2 and don't intend to look back! ( Except when on the track of course, and only if absolutely necessary! )
    In real life I drive my 4WD P/U with hand controls, and because I've not found an affordable wheel system that allows the same in a PC Sim like rFactor 2, I'm using a Thrustmaster t-16000M Flight Stick to control everything. Believe it or not it works pretty dam good if setup properly, but if anyone knows a better system please let me know!
    Basically though what I'm looking for the most is advice and/or reading materials that I can use to get started on my plan to become a much better Sim Racer. I prefer Formula One Grand Prix but want to learn every style of racing I can. I used to race 1/24th slot cars back when and miss my old Chaparral hardtop! So I'm open to anything that anyone has to offer that doesn't involve stock options in a Cobra milk franchise!
    I hope to hear back from all the great drivers that hang out here! So Thanx in advance!

2. Jamie Shorting

Jamie Shorting Registered

3. Maug

Maug Registered

How about using that joystick to handle gas/brakes next to a wheel with a shifter(like a G27)?

4. peterchen

peterchen Registered

I don´t think that´s a good Idea....
    You need both hands on ONE controller!
    It sounds like he is handicapped, so joystick is a good option (and goes very well!)

To OP:
    Welcome! Good choice! :cool:
    There are several threads around here regarding advice for newcomer,
    but now when we need one, I can´t find any! :rolleyes:

5. freew67

freew67 Registered