ISI can you tell me why mirrors cost 40 fps?!(video inside)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GTClub_wajdi, Jan 21, 2014.

1. MarcG

MarcG Registered

yes

2. alpha-bravo

alpha-bravo Registered

coops you are a triple screen user. How you manage the mirror settings ?
    Which FOV you use? I ask because I use a FOV around 22 - 24 as a result of this FOV I have "pixelmonster" car's in my mirror. Some car's don't allow to correct the angle and or FOV of the mirrors ?
    As a nvidia SLI user I can say mirrors on or off made only a little difference on my system. Same is with virtual mirror on off.
    I think for very low FOV we need a higher resolution in the mirrors. Maybe as a car option ? It should be made no big difference in terms of FPS because of the low FOV other parts have not to be rendered. (I'm no expert with gfx stuff so maybe there are good reasons and I'm wrong)

3. martymoose

martymoose Registered

I noticed this issue quite a bit when running SLI GTX 480 with only 1.5GB each I think but cant remember. Would have perfect smooth frames no matter how many cars but some tracks would just crawl with mirrors on, I put it down to the lower GPU memory and just dealt with it. Since I got a Titan this obviously has not been an issue but I still run into the 32bit limitation on some tracks with too many AI. It never uses my full 32GB of system ram or 6GB of vram though there is a threshold where a track simply wont load at all on max settings at 2560x1440.