Assetto Corsa Respectful Comparison

Discussion in 'Other Games' started by Minibull, Nov 8, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Noel Hibbard

Noel Hibbard Registered

What is the number one feedback we get in a real car? Gforces. This is missing from sims so clearly it will be harder. Not sure why this concept is so hard to grasp. If a sim is as easy as driving a real car then something is clearly fudged.

BTW, Tom Cruse has a good bit of track time. He isn't a total newbie they just threw in a car.

2. Marc Collins

Marc Collins Registered

Well, after runnning every car, I can say two things:

1) There has to be some sort of driving aid still on even when they are all apparently off. The purposely dulled throttle response and the "hand of God" that keeps the car straight even when it shouldn't be straight smack of driving and traction aids that would be perfectly fine for a beginner (or console game) setting.

2) If I am wrong about #1, then AC is so far off a realistic sim that we really don't need to do direct comparisons with rF2. They would not be in the same category at all.

I'm happy to give it more time, but the current release is shocking in how immature it is versus the hype and rhetoric from Kunos.

rF2 has been more than frustrating in many ways since its release, but from day 1 the strength of the basic physics and FFB was always evident. It's the only reason anyone would put up with the slow and disorganized development quite frankly. AC is much more polished on its release (though it was supposed to be a final, not the beginning of an extended beta period) in every way except the ones that matter most--physics and FFB. In that regard, it is identical to pCARS. Afraid we'll have to wait quite a while to see if either of them catches up to rF2.

3. Matt Sentell

Matt Sentell Registered