Mod download URL override

Discussion in 'Wish Lists' started by Sylpheed, Sep 23, 2013.

1. Sylpheed

Sylpheed Registered

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to rFactor2 and very happy with it but i was quite disapointed by mod download management.
    I understood that download URL are bundled in mod and that mod developpers have to host their modules and point the right URL in the module.

At first, this sounded quite smart for updating issues and such to me, but in real life, its a real pain to get mods has most modders doesnt host their modules, know what this url is for, etc.

We are running a server and we are willing to provide mods download for players. But with this design, it seems that we even can't (please correct me if i'm wrong!).

I also read Noel Hibbard's post concerning its own customized getmod. It sounds great too but still require all mod updates which may never occur.

So my idea is:

Would it be possible to have a server feature that would provide a "fallback URL" with this kind of scheme:

- Server admin set up a web directory will all mods
    - Server admin set up a "fallback url" in server config which point to that previous directory

- Player join in
    - If it doesn’t have required mods, client try to download mod from rfmod/rfcmp URL normally. (to keep current system advantages)
    - If download fails from 404/non existant DNS/etc, it then try to download the mods on server provided URL.

That would make player's life greatly easier to me. Its a pain to crawl through google, paying sites and such to download mods while there may be people ready to host them.

Its quite a waste that such a nice update system is not really usable because of thoses URL issues :(

What do you think ?

Christophe

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 27, 2013
  2. Noel Hibbard

Noel Hibbard Registered