AA Black Screen and beyond...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Golanv, Dec 13, 2012.

1. Golanv

Golanv Registered

Just picked up my new GPU from the post office, installed it and went to play with the gfx settings since now I can have more pretty and more fps, so I wanted to know how much more.

Well everything was fine and dandy till I started playing with Anti-Aliasing.
    With my previous card I couldnt use AA without turning v-sync on or I got just a black screen with buttons and driver list when I loaded any track to drive.
    I dont like v-sync. (input lag, useless framerate eater etc...)
    Now with this card if I use AA I have to have hdr on or I get black screen. I dont like hdr, it has good things and bad things, and the bad is when its sunny out it makes everything green look too bright and light green, like 80's pants from miami vice, and rest of the stuff that sun hits gets up to neon light bright.

Questions:

I want AA on so I turned ingame AA off and nvidia AA forced on, that didnt give me black screen with or without hdr so technically theres your problem and solution right there, but is that it?
    Also is there hdr profile that can be applied to all tracks with one file, rather than making one for each track, or is this profile mumbo jumbo only for LRP for now?
    HDR in Croft makes the trees all funky with the transparency being all screwy as it seems. Is there something Im missing here, maybe settings from the nvidia control panel concerning AA transparency?
    Why doesnt Tim have a cat?
    If I come up with something else I'll add later.

Then some results that I should prolly post on some of the already existing posts but I'll throw them here for now since Im... here.

Old card nvidia gtx460 1gb:
    Everything else maxed out and turned on, except AA off (FXAA on), hdr off, shadows=medium, shadowblur=off.
    Croft: ~60-110fps depending on traffic.

New card nvidia gtx660 2gb oc:
    Same settings.
    Croft: ~100-160fps