Simple Vehicle Setup Explanation

Discussion in 'Car Modding' started by taufikp, Feb 9, 2012.

1. taufikp

taufikp Registered

I don't know if this is the right forum to post. But anyway, I love the sharing spirit we had in RSC Forum (RIP), so I'd like to share some basic setting that is often asked by people new to 'proper' race simulation. I'm not an expert at this and I found these explanations by googling and from some documents I got from rFactor1 Forum in RSC.

CAMBER
    When set to negative values, the top of the tire will lean closer to vehicle body (car is viewed front-on), positive value is the opposite. The picture below is showing a positive camber.

View attachment 1079

When doing a fast & long cornering, negative camber will help the handling better, because more grip it provides. However, the ideal angle is the one that spread tire wear evenly on tire surface. The right and left camber may not have the same angle, depends on circuit characteristics. Camber values closer to zero give better grip during acceleration and braking.

TOE
    Toe indicates how parallel the wheels are when viewed from above. If the leading edges of the tires are closer together (inward) than the trailing edges, it's called 'toe-in' (negative values). The opposite is called 'toe-out' (positive values). The picture below is showing toe-out.

View attachment 1077

Some vehicle allows you to set toe for front and rear wheels.

This table might help you to understand the effect of toe settings:

Front Positive: Improves turn-in ability
    Front Negative: Decreases turn-in ability
    Rear Positive: Improves stability
    Rear Negative: Decreases stability

The downside of implementing toe (either positive or negative) is increasing tire wear and decreasing straight line speed.

CASTER
    Caster refers to the angle of the steering axis away from vertical when the car is viewed from the side (see picture).

View attachment 1078