car tuning

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jonneymendoza, Jan 17, 2012.

1. jonneymendoza

jonneymendoza Registered

In terms of car tuning/setup. what are the key things i should do if i want to do the below:

1. reduce or increase oversteer
    2. reduce or increase understeer
    3. Accelerate quicker
    4. Have a faster top speed
    5. Reduce wheelspin when breaking(i think someone said to reduce break pressure)

i am a complete noob btw

2. Hendrix

Hendrix Registered

Well, I'm not sure if they're planning on bringing it back for rF2, but the original rFactor had a very user friendly "basic" setup tab in the garage. It was basically four slider bars, where you could adjust for downforce, top speed/accel, over/understeer, and ride stiffness. It'd be a pity if they don't bring this back as it made car setup extremely user friendly, and easy for everyone to understand.

3. Doc_

Doc_ Registered

4. Nuno Dias

Nuno Dias Registered

5. B00Ts-SA

B00Ts-SA Registered

Thank you for the link :)

6. Bty

Bty Registered

What most setup guides misses is what is the most important thing when setting the car.

1st: Tire temperture is the key to a fast lap. Of course you will have to make compromises because it's impossible to have all 4 tires on the perfect temperature all the time, mainly beacuse of car balance.

2nd. Maximum grip while still keeping a responsive car.
    Soft suspensions = more grip
    Hard suspension = car responsiveness

For slow corners you want more grip, for fast corners you need responsiveness, because grip won't help you, if you miss the apex.

3rd ...

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 18, 2012
  7. jonneymendoza

jonneymendoza Registered

cool thanks

8. jomaho

jomaho Registered

I hope I'm not overstepping any ethical or regulatory rules here, but I use a great interactive tool developed for Race2Play but it works for all racing sims and even real-life. Get it here: http://www.race2play.com/special/setup_tool Have fun!

9. Bty