Turbo modelling

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tweaq, Jan 10, 2012.

1. tweaq

tweaq Registered

Sorry if this has been covered somewhere but i cant find anything regarding this aside from people saying it would be nice.

Is there / is there going to be turbo modelling in the game that at least somewhat replicates boost threshold and response?

Closest thing ive seen was LFS but it was somewhat flawed but still at least represented something. Although im no programmer, ive spent a lot of time with modified turbo cars and never thought this would be overly hard to replicate with a 3 or 4 sets of parameters each no more complex than a torque curve plot.

I think it would be an awesome addition which is missing in pretty much every sim, and would allow for some pretty awesome mods... i just think 86 f1 season and group b rally :).

2. Mee

Mee Registered

At the moment proper turbo simulation isn't present in rFactor 2 (has been asked and answered here).

3. Mee

Mee Registered

They didn't have turbo's in F1 back then ;).
    I guess it was an oil pressure gauge or something like that?

4. tweaq

tweaq Registered

Yea would have been oil pressure. I the renault which would be seen as the first real turbo was 78 or 76. Took a few years till everyone else jumped on.

Bummer but im sure its not something incredibly hard to implement later.

5. Robert Gödicke

Robert Gödicke Registered

Hehe, when I read the title something like "speed modelling" a track or car came into my mind, just like all the speed drawing videos on YouTube, rofl. :)

I better had slept tonight. :p

6. Mee

Mee Registered

I'd say it's pretty difficult!
    I once read an article (anyone know what article I'm talking about?) about the engine and turbo modelling in Richard Burns Rally which really was (and is!) state of the art on that front.