A question for Gjon about the dev team

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mclaren777, Jan 10, 2012.

1. 88mphTim

88mphTim racesimcentral.net

I'm lucky I have dark blonde hair so those greys just blend in. ;) Na, not much sleep, active mind.

2. Cellux

Cellux Registered

"the forums would have been made live this morning, not last year"
    Being a developer myself I'm curious: Don't you feel the forums provided valuable input for the direction of development? I would assume opening development process to some extent can be more efficient, than keeping it closed until the end. Of course I guess community feedback becomes much more valuable when some product is actually out. Has the developer team at any stage considered releasing some sort of alpha, like they do in Project CARS?

As for the forums troubles, from what i saw as an outsider, the main issue was communicating estimates that were not pessimistic enough, not starting forums too early. Some people don't think and act as grown ups unfortunately, but they're a minority, however loud they can be. :)

3. jubuttib

jubuttib Registered

It isn't actually even alpha yet, still firmly in pre-alpha. Personally I wouldn't even rate a solitaire game when it's about 12% done, let alone a simulator. What I see at the moment is immense promise, and know that the people behind it can and have done great sims in the past. Just enjoying the ride. =)

And good point about AC too, if it weren't from nKP I'd have a hard time believing they'd really come out with anything. A great year for sim racing this, rF2, pCARS, AC, GTR3, the long awaited release of the new tyre model for LFS (hey, one can dream :))...

4. Jan Duin

Jan Duin Registered

Was looking for some kind of “official appreciation” thread, but I guess this is the best place at the moment.

Sooo to the entire development team: thanks for all your hard work! I’m sure rF2 will have the same impact on the sim racing community like rF had!!

5. mclaren777