Aerodynamics workflow

Discussion in 'Car Modding' started by Chris Lesperance, Mar 2, 2023.

1. Chris Lesperance

Chris Lesperance Registered

More a post out of tiredness. Anybody have a workflow for coming up with the rF2 aero values?

I'm working on a car and have received the aero manual and a few dynamic setup sheets from some owners. So I have values at certain speeds, wing angles, various ride heights and any other combinations. I feel like I have all the info to make an accurate representation in game.

I am still very new to physics modding. But I have been learning a LOT with this. So I start plugging some data in, I get the base values close. So then I work on the adjustment values. I figure out the max downforce, subtract the base value and divide that by number of settings. Plug that into the "1st order" value in the params. Then the base downforce levels are off. Adjusting body downforce, diffuser, wings, just throws everything else off, and then it all falls apart for me.

Match that and there seems to be an increase of downforce in the real car's speed at around 100 mph that I just can't replicate within the game values.

I think I spend about 50 hours trying to get this part right in the last 2 weeks, and just can't nail it down. So just asking some of you other modders, how do you approach this? I'm not finding too much on the sheet about what final values are with out having to go in the game, and taking notes. Anything that I can do from there?

Thanks for coming to my TED talk, a very tired person in spreadsheet hell :)

Real setup sheet example
    Screenshot 2023-03-01 174209.png

Comparison of game values vs real. There is approx 110 N difference between the front wings at 130 mph. This doesn't take in consideration the front to rear ratios.
    Screenshot 2023-03-01 180307.png

2. Raintyre

Raintyre Registered