Online Mega events, iR vs rF2

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by davehenrie, Jan 22, 2023.

1. davehenrie

davehenrie Registered

Everyone knows what happened with the 24hr Virtual race at Le Mans with rF2. iRacing just completed a 24hr event at Daytona and while there weren't technical glitches, there have been a raft of complaints about how the racing was, or wasn't.
    I don't want to start a .mine is bigger than yours' type discussion, but what about the scale of the iR event? They had a huge participation number. So far, the bulk of rF2 special online events have been almost solely for the 'Best of the Best.' I would like to see a 24hr race for absolute beginners, for weekend only drivers....iRacing may have ghost cars in the pits and phantom contacts but they did have thousands of drivers participating. The bulk of any sim user base rarely only consist of top flight drivers. Why can't rF2 have multiple layers of the same event so 90%, 95%, 100%, 105%, 110% drivers can take part?

2. Owen Pyrah

Owen Pyrah Registered

The bulk of the negative sentiment I see towards MSGM is that they've bought up licenses that took events from being inclusive and made them exclusive to only the top drivers. While a bunch of that is just the unpaid equivalent of a troll farm trying to funnel everyone into iRacing, I think a lot of people would appreciate being able to take part.

Much of these events is the hoohah at the time and people want to be involved. I'm not sure how many people will stay up to watch a 24 hour sim race, but there's obviously heaps who love to take part in an online mega event. Without needing to see more than highlights of the top split, I think those racing at 110% pace of the top split still appreciate the names that they are racing alongside. Even if those names are on a different server, they are still in the same event.