How much would it really cost to port to Linux ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by zanewiller, Apr 21, 2022.

1. zanewiller

zanewiller Registered

First let me say I'm no engineer nor do I figure out the expenses of creating games or applications.
    I've seen this inquiry regarding solicitations to foster rFactor 2 for Linux. I've perused a few posts with respect to expenses and how the significant obstacle might be cost related. I couldn't say whether any of that is valid or not.

Assuming that there is a reality to this and this is a main consideration in creating rFactor for Linux, then, at that point, what is a financial plan cost to finish this and to make it work with Linux Steam too ?

I mean expecting this is the significant obstacle then how much financing is required and how much continuous month to month spending plan to keep up with it too.
    I accept there would be an underlying spending plan to recruit more engineers, and afterward progressing expenses to keep up with and fix bugs and so on.

Much appreciated. ?

2. guenther

guenther Registered

I can't really answer that, but I want to add two remarks on this:

- It would require to port MS Visual C++ stuff, which is basically is a rewrite
    - Why should S397 put in the effort for like 2-digit user numbers wanting to utilize Linux?

Especially with Proton and WINE's advancement in the last years, I think it _might_ make more sense to focus on this approach.

Additional: The hardware drivers are also needed, and I doubt any manufacturer is willing to do a port for a minority of users. Don't get me wrong, as a Linux user I would appreciate a port, but I don't think it's realistical from the economic or the technical side.

avenger82, trichens and atomed like this.
  3. Gonzo

Gonzo Member

Steam Linux Users are at roughly 1%.
    rFactor2 has at max 2000 users online simultaneausly.
    So from the sales point of view it does not make sense.