Qustion on driving aids

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Moving Violation, Sep 9, 2021.

1. Moving Violation

Moving Violation Registered

I have read a million posts about whether one should or should not use driving assists. The ones I am interested in are traction, and ABS. For some, the use of assists almost becomes a moral issue ( you're cheating if you use assists} .

I am an average driver at best. I adjust the levels of traction assist and abs depending on what car I'm driving. My experience tells me that I am definitely faster when using assists.
    My feeling is that assists make slower drivers faster but may slow highly skilled drivers. Some might argue that I will not improve if I keep using assists. I am not sure I am capable of driving like some of the really skilled drivers so that It would make sense to stop using assists. We all have a ceiling on what skill level we can attain and I think I am close to mine so I keep using assists.

If your skill ceiling is to be average or below it seems to make sense to use assists where possible
    Comments ?

2. FS7

FS7 Registered

Use whatever makes the game more fun to you.

However, trying to learn to drive without assists can help you get a better feel for the limits of the car. Also sometimes the difficulties people have to drive without assists are related to car setup. Adjusting brake bias, brake pressure, and suspension settings can make the car more stable under braking thus decreasing the need for ABS. Adjusting suspension & differential can improve traction on corner entry & exit thus decreasing the need to use TC.

3. Moving Violation