Tyre pressures and temps

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ENGLISH_52, Apr 22, 2021.

1. ENGLISH_52

ENGLISH_52 Registered

Hi I'm quite new to rf2 and sim racing on a whole. I am still trying to learn the ropes with setups on rf2. I started off on acc back in September where tyres were the main focus to get right, after reading quite alot of info regarding rf2 tyres and temps there is alot of conflicting info. Basically what I've gathered is you run the psi at the lowest, is this true? And secondly what about tyre temps, do u still need to achieve optimal temperatures? I'm currently about to start a alpine cup series, any help would be greatly appreciated

2. mantasisg

mantasisg Registered

The thing about pressures is truth.

The temperatures thing is tricky and I don't know a lot about core temps. You can check core temperatures in garage, not sure how it is with new UI. In game real time tire app shows surface temperatures. The thermal behaviour of thesurface can vary a lot in different cars physics, but usually they are made to fluctuate a lot in rF2. They goes cool fast, and heats up fast. When I do a tire, I feel them to be more true when they don't go that much cooler that quickly. However, as I said, you'd find many rF2 cars which basically reaches optimum surface temperatures while being overstressed. Meaning you enter turns with less grippy tire, and when you push it harder it just meets the optimum during the turning/braking/acceleration...

Again... this depends on content. I have heard that supposedly the official GT cars are quickest while their tires are freshest and coolest, but I drive them little couldn't confirm, but people who said it should be trusted.

ENGLISH_52 likes this.
  3. ENGLISH_52

ENGLISH_52 Registered

Thanks for the help much appreciated

4. Comante

Comante Registered

I find several cars in rf2 drive better if you let cool them down between fast laps, maybe is more mental than tires, but so it seems.