Fixed Oreca 07 [brakes, engine wear]

Discussion in 'Car Modding' started by Denis Eshchenko, Jun 8, 2021.

Tags:
  1. Denis Eshchenko

Denis Eshchenko Registered

Hello everyone!

Firstly, I'm an amateur modder, and just suggest my changes. You may or may not use it. You decide for yourself. Made exclusively for testing purposes, but I will be glad if some endurance leagues take advantage of this.

You all know about the recent race in VEC. You all know about the problem with engine wear on Oreca 07 (and not only the lmp 2 car). I have investigated and here is my opinion on the situation.

In the previous topic, it was rightly indicated that excessive engine wear does not come from quick downshifts, but from long upshifts. According to the experience of rfactor 1 mods, engine wear began after the rpm limit. In the case of Oreca 07, this should be after 9000. As the developers said, the engine resource is 50 hours. This is really a lot, and with ordinary demotions, such a resource cannot be exhausted. Hence, it is logical to assume that wear begins much earlier. Before that, there were almost no problems, because there were red flags and engine wear was reset. I've seen problems like this in Daytona and .. possibly other tracks, but very rarely. Most often at Le Mans. Why there? Because there are many long straight lines and the engine stays at the high RPM where it starts to wears out more.

My decision.
    I found out that through the tuning file (where the car's air packages are registered), you can also fix the physics of the car.

I decided to make a few changes through the upgrade.ini file for Oreca 07. I took the 9000 rpm limit as a basis and limited the engine wear on it. Also removed the random wear by setting LifetimeVar to 0. Of course, I haven't been able to complete the 24h race distance yet to test it live, but the AIs I launched last night were able to drive the entire distance without breakdowns.

Also corrected the section in LeMan aeropackage: