Is there some sort of AI catchup/slowdown feature

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Sky8lade, May 7, 2021.

Tags:
  1. Sky8lade

Sky8lade Registered

I am new to rFactor2. I done a couple of races at Spa after a lot of practice and getting used to everything in the game. I wanted to know if this game has some kind of AI catchup/slowdown feature. Basically I was leading the race and had a few seconds gap lead. I noticed that the AI never fell too far behind even when I set a faster lap. Then I made a mistake and fell to fifth position. However I caught the AI drivers in no time at all. After the race looked at the lap times and saw that the AI go faster if I'm in front and slow down dramatically if they are leading. Is this a "thing" in RFactor2 and if so, is there a way to turn it off?

2. pilAUTO

pilAUTO Registered

Sky8lade likes this.
  3. Sky8lade

Sky8lade Registered

Interesting thanks, seems like it's not possible to turn off and not something that is going to be developed anytime soon. For offline racing it's quite important as in my case playing online is a bad experience due to high server ping rates as I don't stay in a country which is close to any servers.

4. Lazza

Lazza Registered

@Sky8lade pilAUTO is (was) DrivingFast. I think he has misunderstood you here, and his wishlist item isn't about your issue.

I'm pretty sure AI rubberbanding can be switched off, just can't remember the details right now. I'll have a look later if no one else responds.

5. marvelharvey

marvelharvey Registered

I forget the name, but it's the bottom most option in the AI settings, under Number of Opponents, Strength and Aggression. Set it to 0% and there should be no catch up.

6. DucMan888

DucMan888 Registered