Invisible to other cars in multiplayer

Discussion in 'Bug Reports' started by Bartosz Bińczyk, Feb 21, 2021.

1. Bartosz Bińczyk

Bartosz Bińczyk Registered

Hello everyone,

I have an issue that keeps reappearing every now and then over the past year since I fell in love with RF2. I enter a server as a driver, I can go around the track without any problems but other drivers cannot see me and I cant see them. The game still shows the drivers in the players' list but if I want to spectate them, the replay just shows their pit stalls which are empty. This is an issue that keeps reappearing across many versions and is very intermittent. Usually, this problem goes away after relaunching RF2 multiple times. I have this issue now and it doesn't go away at all. I noticed that if I launch RF2 in desktop mode, the issue is solved but, while using VR, I am invisible. As it seems that this bug is impacted by various factors, I am wondering what is the core underlying issue that's causing this problem? Is there a quick solution to this? I know it's not an internet connection issue since I'm using a wired 500Mbps connection. I had DNFs in endurance races because of this issue and would love to know if there is any reliable solution to combat this bug. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers to fellow sim racers!

2. Lazza

Lazza Registered

The 3 threads I've found so far suggest:
    • modem/router issues (rebooting the hardware may help)
    • IPv6 address instead of IPv4
    But being linked to screen vs VR... erm... o_O

Bartosz Bińczyk likes this.
  3. Bartosz Bińczyk

Thanks for the suggestion. Disabling IPV6 worked for desktop gameplay (for some reason the problem appeared also while in desktop mode).
    For the future generations, here is what I did: Control Panel -> Network and Sharing Centre -> Connections: Ethernet -> Properties -> uncheck Internet Protocol Version 6 (TCP/IPV6)
    Unfortunately, the problem persists when I'm in VR :( I tried the following: