rFactor 2 Online Tools by Chris “redapg”

Discussion in 'Modding' started by Slow Motion, Oct 11, 2016.

1. redapg

redapg Registered

Just as an Information.
    Today i switched the php Version, that the Host uses, from 5.6 to 7.4.
    Please report here, if any Problems with the Tools appear now. :)
    Thank you

Corti, Mauro and lagg like this.
  2. redapg

redapg Registered

I have added a new Tool that you might find useful too. :)
    While building the no Chicane Version of the S397 Le Mans Track, i wanted to add some Guardrails, where the Chicanes have been.
    And maybe i'll do it with a later Update.
    What always is a bit complicated with DLC Tracks, is to position Objects.
    I normally use the Waypoint Coordinates of the AIW File, to find the correct Positions.
    But i also thought, that it could be helpful to get the Shape of the Tracks Road into 3DSMax.
    Unfortunately i'm no Programmer, so i did search the Web to find some 3DSMax Script Snippets, that could import a Text File with XYZ Coordinates to build a Spline out of it.
    Now i could put together such a Script and i have written a new Script, that extracts the Waypoint Coordinates of the main Path and writes these into an Text File (File Extension is .coord).
    This File can be imported with the small Script and it creates a Spline out of it.
    I have tested it with 3DSMax 2012 and 2021 and it works with both.
    If you use the Tool, you get the Link, to download the 3DSMax Script, on the last Page, when you download the *.coord File.
    When you generate a Poly Line with that Spline, you don't get the 100% Road Shape of the original Track, of course, but it's better than nothing. :)

McFlex, svictor, Hazi and 4 others like this.
  3. philrob

philrob Registered

Very interesting as i am working on the VLM 1986 ( no chicane) version and updating shaders , textures, objects, lighting etc.I had not thought of this type of tool.Much appreciated like all the rest.