RFactor 2 Advanced Car Set up Guide

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by David O'Reilly, Sep 13, 2015.

1. tommy737

tommy737 Registered

Hi All/David

First of all please let me thank you for your guide, as I'm a complete newbie of this world, the guide was exactly what I needed to undestand the principles of car setup.

Don't know if this comes against the rules of the community, but I'll try to post amessage coming from a different internet site as I'm honestly getting confusing regarding diff lock setting so I really hope somebody else could help me to understand my doubts....

Other site statement
    Power-diff: High values=over-steer behaviour, Low values=under-steer behaviour.
    Coast-diff: High values=Under-steer behaviour, Low values=Over-steer behaviour.

To complete this:

Well, as a poor driver, I'm trying to chase the truth by myself making test and different run (SPA, using Formula Renault 3.5 as it comes on the sim). Closing the diff power (100%) car does not oversteer so quickly but tyre wear highly increases and this should confirm what David explains on the guide, but my question is...

how is that possible such a video on youtube explaining exactly the opposite? Any possibilities the other sim uses opposite scale? I do believe lock means lock (100%) so an increase on diff power should bring the car towards Understeer, and not oversteer as stated just above.

I have been also checking at the beginning of this topic some topic related to this, so do we have (as a magic number of setup does not exist) which is the right direction on setting up a car with diff?

Hope it makes sense
    Cheers
    T

2. David O'Reilly

David O'Reilly Registered

@tommy737
    In my view the other site statement
    "Other site statement
    Power-diff: High values=over-steer behaviour, Low values=under-steer behaviour.
    Coast-diff: High values=Under-steer behaviour, Low values=Over-steer behaviour."