Track Mesh Topology - Best practices and feedback

Discussion in 'Track Modding' started by TheFloydD, Jan 26, 2021.

1. TheFloydD

TheFloydD Registered

Hello, everyone

During my recent work on a track (I'm a complete beginner to RFactor 2 track modding, but not to working with 3D models) I realized that the mesh topology of the Joesville examples seems to be very clean, compared to what I'm able to achieve in some places, albeit the Joesville example is a very simple circuit. Thus I thought that for the sake of future track artists, and for my own sake as well, we could have a little thread about track topology.

I have tried to search the forum for similar threads, in order to avoid redundancy, but I have failed to find any threads addressing this. If we get a good discussion going, I will make sure to update this post with suggestions and examples from members, so future artists can look it up.

Case 1: Horizontal-Vertical merging
    upload_2021-1-26_14-3-17.png
    (Non-driven surface merging)
    In this case, I have a horizontal road that is merging with a vertical road. Now both of these roads are not actually driven, so it is more a question of making a nice transition between the two roads. I have removed the decals from this image, but there are decals at the edge of both roads in order to transition from road texture to grass texture. What I am most worried about is z-fighting and graphical glitches between the two roads if I simply add a decal on top and make a transition. Any thoughts?

upload_2021-1-26_14-3-57.png
    (Driven surface merging, green is racesurface and blue is pitlane)