How to use the in-game music player!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Sparks, Sep 14, 2020.

1. Sparks

Sparks Registered

I'm new to sim racing, and it took me a while to settle on a game. The demo for rFactor 2 charmed me so much, that I decided to join you guys! I bought the game just a couple days ago, and when I was setting up my custom control scheme, I noticed that I could assign buttons for a music player. I'm a huge music addict, so I immediately searched online to see where I was supposed to put the songs, and couldn't find a clear answer. There's no "music" folder in the rf2 game files. So what do you do?

Did you know steam has a music player? Yeah, neither did I. Well, it turns out that if you map the buttons, you can control the music player while you're driving. I mapped them to my wheel. I listen to Ridge Racer and old Need for Speed songs. I'm in heaven. I clearly bought the right game.

The steam music player is very well documented, so you can easily look up how to use that. It is a little wonky though, so if you encounter any glitches or can't figure out how to do something, just ask me. After that, just map the buttons and you're good to go.

My racing playlist:
    https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLDzsIaDZ0DFrePpe-K_FygFaWW788mKNn

TL;DR

Mapping the buttons allows you to control the steam music player without bringing up the overlay. The steam music player is a little awkward and kinda glitchy, so if you need help with it please let me know in the thread.

2. Gonzo

Gonzo Member

simply use a player you like like spotify and use your multimedia keys on the keyboard to hear whatever music you like ;).

Bidle likes this.
  3. Sparks

Sparks Registered

I didn't think of that lol. But, using the buttons and dials on your steering wheel for it feels super cool

4. TJones

TJones Registered

That's what I usually hear for online races ! :)

Sparks likes this.
  5. lagg

lagg Registered