New Icon Creator Tutorial

Discussion in 'Car Modding' started by dylbie, Jan 27, 2020.

1. Olivier Mardoc

Olivier Mardoc Registered

@McFlex Hi guy, I'm bad, I can't find the lines to exclude in the WHITESTUDIO_SIDE.SCN file. For more convenience, can you share us your SCN file or even the Showroom rfcmp file?
    Thank you in advance

Last edited: Sep 9, 2020
  2. DanMicke

DanMicke Registered

all_vehicles.ini.JPG
    As a total newbie to both rFactor 2 and modding a car in this environment (did some personalize own car work in GPL) I've now (after searching on web, YouTube and trial and error) managed to edit (piece of cake as I'm very used to Photoshop) a personal skin reflecting my IRL car Mazda MX5 and got it represented in the SpecMiata Mod. Very happy with that and everything is just fine with the car and how it looks racing in the game. Everything... ...except the small detail of having it represented when selecting the car and the instance 'icon'. That's why this thread was of great interest but I still don't get it to work despite several tries with the PNG-file (the original is fixed and ready to use). As your discussion here not matches my circumstances exactly I had to go on inuition with try and error. Only error so far on that one.

This concerns one car only and to obtain me able to race my car I made it as an alt to a native car in the SpecMiata download. So I've got a folder for the .mas -file with the skin and some material placed in '...\rFactor 2\UserData\player\Settings\SpecMiata\Micke Kallman'. My guess was that my name 'Micke Kallman' represent folder \TEAMS\ above. (If it has any relevance to all a 'paired' folder for the native car I 'altered' with my skin is the only one represented from that car set and it has an alt.dds as well.)