Game Optimization and avoiding FPS drops?

Discussion in 'Technical & Support' started by aren, Jul 28, 2020.

1. aren

aren Registered

Hey everyone. I'm new to RF2 and PC's in general.

Been spending a decent amount of time trying to optimize RF2 for my Hardware (R5 3600, GTX 1650 Super (4 GB Vram) , 8 GB DDR4 - 3200 RAM, 1080p 60 Hz non-gsync monitor), and monitoring FPS,CPU/GPU usage using Ctrl + C in game.

Recently, I was experimenting with a 20 car grid of Taatus at Monaco and found the game to be unplayable with huge FPS drops down below 30. Not sure why, with tracks like Le mans, NOLA etc. there were no such issues. I noticed my VRAM usage was @94% and my computer RAM usage was @6 GB/8 GB, with the CPU being quite underutilized.

Any thoughts on what the issue could be? Is it due to the GPU's high VRAM usage, or the fact that the PC itself has only 8 GB RAM, or do I need to lower a setting? New to this, so sorry if it's a stupid question!

My settings are:

Video: AA - level 5; post processing - high; sync - video (assume this means vsync?)
    circuit detail - high
    player detail - full
    Opponent detail - medium
    max cars visible - 12
    all other settings were left default

2. davehenrie

davehenrie Registered

you are thin on Vram and system ram. AI at a heavily graphic track like Cote de Azur or Portland will really bog down your system. Try dropping down to 12 to 15 AI, (even tho only 12 are visible, the textures get loaded into vram.) Don't race at the twilights or rain and don't cycle time fast. Drop your Post Processing, disable rain particles in your player.json
    Get more system ram(make sure a 2nd stick matches your first exactly), and start saving for a new vid card.

3. Highlandwalker

Highlandwalker Registered

Try. AA - level 4: Post processing - medium. Switch off vsync if you can live without it, vsync is an FPS killer, you loose about 30%. I never use vsync, some people notice tearing more than others.