Track Modding noob questions

Discussion in 'Track Modding' started by Chris Lesperance, Feb 4, 2020.

1. Chris Lesperance

Chris Lesperance Registered

I just want to start off, that I am a complete noob at this. My motivation and head can go into weird places and I'm not sure why I am doing this :confused:. After taking some time in the car world, I thought it was a good idea to look into track converting. After finding @SPASKIS youtube tutorial, I was stunned and shocked that I was able to get a track at least into Dev mode!

So I had a couple rF1 track ideas in my head that I really wanted to see in rF2. Each one I'm hoping to build off the next. So I'm just looking for options as I'm not proficient in actual 3d modeling. I'm comfortable with 3DSimEd.

(Sorry I don't have screenshots yet)
    My first project - Metro by Bassguy. I've always been a fan of this track and figured it might be good for the Formula E cars. For this one, it is just converting the track, and getting it working in game with the rF2 features. Currently I have it working, and got some of the shaders/textures to a working rF2 format. A lot of it needs to be updated, but I got it in game and working.

Now my questions:
    General Questions:
    - What is a shadow group? I've seen it listed in a few spots. I'm not sure what that is (again, I'm a noob to this modding :) )
    - What is the policy for S397 assests? I will always credit them if I use something, but if a truck, grandstand, trees etc can be used and works, is that allowable for a release? Is there some kind of asset pack?

For Metro:
    1. The grandstands need to be scrapped and replaced. I should be able to get another asset from another track. For moving that asset into place, does 3DSimEd have an easier moving tool, or is using the text based, XYZ coordinates the only way? Are you able to select multiple objects and move them all together?