Simulation - 10/10. Usability - 1/10.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dylbie, Sep 9, 2019.

1. dylbie

dylbie Registered

Firstly let me state here that I am a self confessed rF2 fanboy, and I've been modding cars on and off for the last 5 years so it is without doubt my number one sim. It is really difficult for me to write a post like this but I feel I'm compelled to after the last few weeks experience using the sim, seeing leagues fail, and two whole evenings wasted just trying to host a server for me and some friends.

A friend recently stated: "What's the point of the world's best rollercoaster, if the steps to the station are broken?"

I've just seen a league which was regularly getting 30+ drivers per season (63 in one case) now dwindle to almost nothing. And mostly because of complaints of "I can't get this to work" or "This wont load" or "It keeps freezing/crashing". Is it coincidence that there is an exodus?

I spent two evening messing around with port forwarding and trying to sort out loopback issues, only to eventually get nowhere and be stopped racing with my friends as a result. Why should it be this hard to set up a fun server to mess around with friends?

I'm now seeing someone independent single-handedly creating really great UI and UX tools for single player. Why is this work not being done and rolled out by Studio397? Why are they not employing people who are doing the work, even if only on a consultancy basis?

The new UI looks great and will be great I'm sure, but what we saw is just a HTML version of what we have now. I'm sure there will be tons of new features eventually, but I am honestly scared that time is running out and people are going elsewhere.

I see time and again in the roadmaps more DLC and eSports promotion. I understand this fully, but I get the sense that all the focus is almost solely on endurance racing eSports now. What happened to rFactor being good at ALL types of motorsport?