Flying Tatuus cars as designed/intentional? Just curious.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by likes_simracing, Jul 20, 2019.

1. likes_simracing

likes_simracing Registered

Hello! I am new here. I am new to rFactor2 also. I bought the game when I saw the announcement over at RD about the Tatuus cars. I love driving these cars. FFB, visuals, all of it. I'm sure the other cars are nice to drive also, but right now I only have time for the Tatuus.

I noticed the Tatuus cars fly off over crests. I only experienced this on Lime Rock so far (the only track I tried), but I suppose this could be true in other fast, sharp crests also. I posted a similar thread over at RD, but maybe the S397 team might miss it, so I decided to post here. My question is whether they are as designed/intended (so I can just throttle down), or if the car parameters might be making these cars susceptible to taking off and was not the intent (so the dev team can investigate and patch if needed).

I made a couple of videos that I uploaded to YouTube to document this. They are a bit long, but the TLDW is that I can consistently make the cars leave the ground for some time before crashing, except the F4 and USF.

DJCruicky likes this.
  2. JimmyT

JimmyT Registered

Yeah, I didn't watch all of the video but the first 2 crashes in the top vid seem to be due to you damaging the front wing beforehand. First crash you hit the wall on the previous lap and looks like damaged aero. Second crash you hit the car in front and probably damaged aero. I would check that first if I was you. Maybe turn damage to 0 and see if you still have the problem??
    Just a thought. :)

Edit:Just watched the first instance in the bottom vid and seems you didn't hit anything so I may be wrong in my assumption. :(

Edit 2: I retract my earlier statement completely, they do want to fly.
    New theory "Red Bull Gives You Wings" :D

Last edited: Jul 20, 2019
  3. likes_simracing