What's the Best Wheel for under $800?

Discussion in 'Hardware Building/Buying/Usage Advice' started by SL1DE, Apr 7, 2019.

1. SL1DE

SL1DE Registered

I'm in the market for a new wheel after I've been using my G27 since around 2012 or 2013 and noticed that it kind of feels different now than it did when it was new, like it's worn out inside or something.

I actually want a Fanatec but they're quite expensive, like $1,200 for a base + wheel, and three pedals. For that kind of money I'd rather just buy a real car.

So I've been thinking about getting a Thrustmaster T300 since it's also PS4 compatible, but I think they've already been out for a few years... So before making a decision, I am wondering what the community thinks, which is the best wheel I can get for my budget, in terms of feel/feedback, realism? I really don't want to spend more than maybe $7-800 AUD... I'm not rich. And something that will last me another 6-7 years.

Suggestions?

2. davehenrie

davehenrie Registered

Thrustmaster TS-pc OR ts-XW should be well below 800 with pedals. Both are at least 2 generations newer than the 300. There are some lower priced Direct Drive wheels, you might check those out.

3. Lazza

Lazza Registered

Watties! The best wheel for under $800!

Sorry, old joke. What davehenrie said, thrustmaster is generally pretty good, should only need minor maintenance at times.

Having said that, if you've looked into fanatec gear and anything cheaper is always going to feel like a stopgap until you're rich... you might be better off just saving longer (or biting the bullet) and getting fanatec. Yeah, it's another $4-500, but if you spend $700 on something you're not happy with...

F1Aussie likes this.
  4. t0p5ecret

t0p5ecret Registered